ART ON THE VERGE OF SCIENCE. Lecture series by Dmitry Bulatov ART ON THE VERGE OF SCIENCE. Lecture series by Dmitry Bulatov
ART ON THE VERGE OF SCIENCE. Lecture series by Dmitry Bulatov
March 10-21, 2022
Online

The course is available only for participants of the School for Young Artists program 

Studies on the nature of life and the limits of human capabilities go beyond academic categories. Like many other "scientific" issues, they also form the basis of the development of culture and require wider attention. Art&Science is a good example. It is an art practice which use various conceptual foundations, research methods and technological approaches in the art work production. Do artists who turn to scientific research create new ways of looking at the world? Do they reveal new perspectives on research, related processes, and relationship with society? Are they trying to find new ways to involve a viewer into their research? Dmitry Bulatov, the curator of the Baltic branch of The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts will discuss various aspects of cultural and artistic activity at the intersection of art and science. 

Dmitry Bulatov is an artist, art theorist, and curator. Initiator of exhibition and publishing projects in the fields of art&science and new media. Bulatov has initiated and curated over twenty international projects and exhibitions. He is a member of DOC(K)S and NOEMA magazines’ editorial boards. Two-time recipient of the Innovation Prize (2008, 2013, Russia). In 2014, Bulatov was nominated to the Golden Nica Award of the Prix Ars Electronica Festival (Austria) in the Visionary Pioneers of Media Art category. In 2018-2019, he was an expert of the Art and Technology grant program at the Garage Museum of Contemporary Arts, Moscow. In 2020-2021, he was a jury member of the Sergey Kuryokhin Contemporary Art Prize, St Peterburg. 

Image: Dmitry Bulatov, Alexey Tchebykin “Dancing Forest.” Installation that reconstructs the interaction of a coniferous forest section of the Curonian Spit National Park and local geomagnetic fields. The project is supported by the Cybres Center (Stuttgart, Germany).

Support our projects and we can do more!
Support Us

3 Peter and Paul Fortress, 197046, St. Petersburg, Russia
Phone/Fax: +7 (812) 233-00-40, office@proarte.ru

© PRO ARTE 2000-2020. All rights reserved

PRO ARTE is supported by

   

Our Partners

Российский этнографический музейЛоготип Cumuluscyland

ART & SCIENCE: ИСКУССТВО НА ГРАНИ НАУКИ. Цикл лекций Дмитрия Булатова ART & SCIENCE: ИСКУССТВО НА ГРАНИ НАУКИ. Цикл лекций Дмитрия Булатова
ART & SCIENCE: ИСКУССТВО НА ГРАНИ НАУКИ. Цикл лекций Дмитрия Булатова
10-21 марта 2022
Онлайн

Лекции доступны только для участников программы «Школа молодого художника» 

Исследования природы жизни и пределов человеческих возможностей выходят за рамки академических категорий. Подобно множеству других «научных» проблем, они также составляют основу развития культуры и требуют к себе более широкого внимания. За примером стоит обратиться к опыту Art&Science — нaпрaвлeнию иcкуccтвa, представители которого используют различные концептуальные основания, научно-исследовательские методики и технологические подходы при создании своих произведений. Создают ли художники, обратившиеся к научным исследованиям, новые способы взглянуть на мир? Выявляют ли они новые критические перспективы в области научных исследований, связанных с ними процессов и взаимоотношений с обществом? Пытаются ли они найти новые формы вовлечения зрителя в свои исследования? О разных аспектах культурной и художественной деятельности на пересечении искусства и науки рассказывает в своем курсе лекций куратор Балтийского филиала Государственного музея изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина (ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина) Дмитрий Булатов. 

Дмитрий Булатов — художник, теоретик искусства, куратор. Организатор выставочных и издательских проектов в области art&science и новых медиа. Организовал и курировал более двадцати международных проектов и выставок. Автор книг и антологий по искусству, член редакционных советов журналов «DOC(K)S» (Франция) и «NOEMA» (Италия). Дважды лауреат государственной премии «Инновация» (Россия). В 2014 году был номинирован на «Золотую Нику» фестиваля Prix Ars Electronica (Австрия) в разделе «Visionary Pioneers of Media Art». Приглашенный эксперт грантовой программы Музея «Гараж» в области IT-технологий, инженерии и art&science (2018-2019), член жюри Премии в области современного искусства им. С. Курехина (2020-2021). 

Изображение: Дмитрий Булатов, Алексей Чебыкин. «Танцующий лес». Инсталляция, реконструирующая взаимодействие участка хвойного леса Национального парка «Куршская коса» и локальных геомагнитных полей. При поддержке Центра перспективной робототехники «Cybres» (Штутгарт, Германия).

Поддержите наши проекты, и мы
сможем сделать еще больше!
Поддержать

197046, Санкт-Петербург, Петропавловская крепость, д. 3
Тел./факс: +7 (812) 233-00-40, office@proarte.ru

© ПРО АРТЕ 2000-2020. Все права защищены

Нас поддерживают

   

Наши партнеры

Российский этнографический музей